Public Holidays in Pakistan

Public Holidays Pakistan

Pakistan holidays are celebrated according to the Islamic or Gregorian calendars for religious and civil purposes, respectively. Religious festivals like Eid are celebrated according to the Islamic calendar whereas other national holidays like international Labour Day, Pakistan day, and Quaid-i-Azam Day are celebrated according to the Gregorian calendar.


5 February Kashmir Solidarity Day (Protest against Indian administration in Jammu and Kashmir)

23 March Pakistan Day (Commemorates the Lahore Resolution, which formally demanded an independent Muslim-majority state to be created out of the British Indian Empire; the republic was also declared on this day in 1956. A parade is also held on this day to display weapons)

1 May Labour Day (Celebrates the achievements of workers)

14 August Independence Day (Marking Pakistani independence from the United Kingdom, formation of Pakistan in 1947)

25 December Quaid-e-Azam Day (Birthday of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, founder of Pakistan)


Holidays of the (lunar) Islamic calendar

Dhu al-Hijjah 10th-12th Eid-ul-Adha (Marks the end of the Hajj pilgrimage; sacrifices offered on this day commemorate Abraham's willingness to sacrifice his son)


Shawwal                       1st-3rd Eid-ul-Fitr (Marks the end of the fasting month of Ramadan)

Rabiʽ al-Awwal 12         Eid-e-Milad-un-Nabi (Birthday of the Islamic prophet Muhammad)

Muharram 9th & 10th    Ashura (Karbala Day for Shias to the mourn for the martyred Imam Hussein ibn Ali)

Show map
Show map
Currency Exchange Rate   to

  1 =