Public Holidays in Turkey

Public Holidays Turkey

Here’s the short list of Turkish national public holidays when banks, offices and businesses are closed and traffic intensifies:

January 1: New Year’s Day

April 23: National Sovereignty & Children’s Day

May 1: Labor and Solidarity Day

May 19: Atatürk Commemoration, Youth & Sports Day

July 15: Democracy & National Unity Day

August 30: Victory Day

October 28-29: Republic Day


Two Islamic religious festivals are also important national holidays in Turkey: Ramazan Bayramı following the holy month of Ramazan; and Kurban Bayramı. Both of these holidays are celebrated according to the traditional Islamic Hijri lunar calendar.

Show map
Show map
Currency Exchange Rate   to

  1 =